Saturday 13 August 2022

Sachin Tendulkar Congratulates Indian Teams For Their Performance In Chess Olympiad year 2022

Sachin Tendulkar Congratulates Indian Teams For Their Performance In Chess Olympiad year 2022

New Delhi: Legendary Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar congratulated all Indian chess players who got medals in team and personal events at the recently-concluded 44th Chess Olympiad 2022 .

Indian women’s team scripted history at the 44th Chess Olympiad by winning the nation’s first-ever medal in the women’s section while men even claimed a bronze medal in the prestigious event in the Mamallapuram, Tamil Nadu on Tuesday. The men’s team had got a bronze in the previous Chess Olympiad also.

Tendulkar Tweeted:

 “Congratulations to the teams on winning the medals in the open and women’s section at the #ChessOlympiad. Great to watch  India being bestowed upon the Nona Gaprindashvili Cup. Kudos to all our 7 individual medalists also  participants from all over the world.”

India A team, comprising Koneru Humpy, R Vaishali, Tania Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkarni, achieved a bronze medal in the women’s section after a 1-3 loss to the USA in the final round match.

Humpy and Vaishali drew their games while Tania Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkarni ended up falling their games.

In the open section, on the other hand, the young India B team, which affected everyone with their performances throughout the event, handed the nation its second bronze medal after thrashing Germany 3-1.

India B had D Gukesh directing  from the top and the start, scoring a fantastic 9/11, Nihal Sarin chipped in with a superb 7.5/10, Praggnanandhaa scoring well with 6.5/9 and Raunak Sadhwani even scoring a valuable 5.5/8.

Moreover medals in the team events, India won 7 medals in the individual category – two gold, one silver and four bronze. Gukesh and Sarin were on the top and 2nd board respectively while Arjun Erigaisi achieved a silver medal on the third board. R Praggnanandhaa (third board), R Vaishali (third board), Tania Sachdev (third board) and Divya Deshmukh (reserve board) claimed personal bronze medals.

India even won the prestigious Gaprindashvili Cup. It is provided to the nation for their collective performance in both open and women’s sections. It was even for the first time India hosted the world’s biggest chess tournament, from July 28 to August 10.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Search This Website